Frank Lloyd Wright World Heritage Serial Inscription

World Heritage is a UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization) designation of worldwide historic sites recognized for their outstanding universal value. These sites are worthy of perpetual conservation for their important place in cultural heritage. Adopted by UNESCO in 1972, 192 countries are parties to the World Heritage Convention, which enhances worldwide understanding and appreciation of sites and encourages international cooperation for heritage conservation. The World Heritage designation establishes Wright’s place on the international stage of modern architecture and identifies his work as vital to our cultural heritage.

The 20th Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright World Heritage inscription is a group of eight sites representing the span of Wright’s career.

These Wright sites together constitute a single World Heritage Inscription:

  • Unity Temple (1905-08) Oak Park, Illinois
  • Frederick C. Robie House (1908-10) Chicago, Illinois
  • Taliesin (1912) Spring Green, Wisconsin
  • Hollyhock House (1918-1921) Los Angeles, California
  • Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House (1936-37) Madison, Wisconsin
  • Taliesin West (1938) Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Fallingwater (1936-39) Mill Run, Pennsylvania
  • Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (1956-59) New York, New York

There are currently 1,052 World Heritage sites in 165 countries. The group of eight Frank Lloyd Wright sites becomes the 24th inscription on the list of U.S. sites.

U.S. sites include:

  • Mesa Verde National Park CO (1978)
  • Yellowstone National Park WY/MT/ID (1978)
  • Everglades National Park FL (1979)
  • Grand Canyon National Park AZ (1979)
  • Independence Hall PA (1979)
  • Kluane / Wrangell-St Elias / Glacier Bay / Tatshenshini-Alsek AK (1979, 1992, 1994)
  • Redwood National and State Parks CA (1980)
  • Mammoth Cave National Park KY (1981)
  • Olympic National Park WA (1981)
  • Cahokia Mounds State Historic Site IL (1982)
  • La Fortaleza and San Juan National Historic Site PR (1983)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park NC/TN (1983)
  • Statue of Liberty NJ/NY (1984)
  • Yosemite National Park CA (1984)
  • Chaco Culture NM (1987)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park HI (1987)
  • Monticello and the University of Virginia in Charlottesville VA (1987)
  • Taos Pueblo NM (1992)
  • Carlsbad Caverns National Park NM (1995)
  • Waterton Glacier International Peace Park MT / jointly with Canada (1995) Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument Hawaii (2010)
  • Poverty Point State Historic Site LA (2014)
  • San Antonio Missions TX (2015)

Tour information about Robie House and Unity Temple. VISIT NOW!